Benjamin Britten

The Simple Symphony

Benjamin Britten composed his Simple Symphony when he was twenty, but he based it on music that he'd written much earlier -- some of it when he was only 10! The "Simple Symphony" has four movements, each of which has a very catchy name: Boisterous Bouree, Playful Pizzicato, Sentimental Sarabande, and Frolicsome Finale.

We are working to update the quizzes on our site, please check back soon!
Music In This Episode

Simple Symphony: Boisterous Bouree

Simple Symphony: Playful Pizzicato

Violin Partita #3: Gavotte

Simple Symphony: Sentimental Serenade

Simple Symphony: Frolicsome Finale